MembranAir

Membrane for capturing formaldehyde from indoor air

The work carried out as part of Nicolas Sadovnik’s thesis (Elimination of formaldehyde by recyclable adsorbers, 2017- 2021) highlighted the excellent capture properties of MOF Al-pda (formula Al(OH)-3.5 PDA with PDA: pyrazole dicarboxylate) for formaldehyde, major indoor air pollutant.
SquairTech intends to market this material for various air purification applications (building, transport, industry). However, the MOF powder must be shaped according to precise specifications to be used in purification systems (purifier, CTA etc.). Indeed, the object obtained must combine good purification performance and low pressure losses, in addition to good mechanical stability.


In collaboration with the CRC, a reference laboratory in heritage conservation including ancient films, the IMAP, a laboratory with strong expertise in the shaping of MOFs, has recently developed a manufacturing protocol for a mechanically stable cellulosic membrane containing an exceptional MOF content. These studies were initiated as part of the European Nemosine project (2018-2022), then continued as part of a joint CRC/IMAP thesis, and showed the excellent performance of these membranes for the capture of a volatile organic compound (VOC) accelerating the degradation of old films or books, acetic acid.
One of the objectives of this project is to manufacture and optimize Al-pda based membranes for the capture of formaldehyde from indoor air based on the protocol developed between IMAP and CRC.

The membranes will be integrated into an air purifier to be tested on a scale 1 in an environmental chamber under representative air pollution conditions. These measurements will make it possible to evaluate the filtration efficiency as well as the associated pressure losses and to better understand the effect of the properties of the membranes (porosity, thickness, MOF content etc) on their performance for this application.

Project leader :

Teams :

Labs :

Socio-economic partners :

MembranAir

Membrane pour la capture du formaldéhyde de l’air intérieur

Les travaux menés dans le cadre de la thèse de Nicolas Sadovnik (Elimination de formaldéhyde par adsorbeurs recyclables, 2017- 2021) ont mis en lumière les excellentes propriétés de capture du MOF Al-pda (formule Al(OH)-3,5 PDA avec PDA : pyrazole dicarboxylate) pour le formaldéhyde, polluant majeur de l’air intérieur.
Squairtech compte commercialiser ce matériau pour différentes applications de purification de l’air (bâtiment, transport, industrie). La poudre de MOF doit cependant être mise en forme selon un cahier des charges précis pour être utilisée dans des systèmes de purification (purificateur, CTA etc.). En effet, l’objet obtenu doit combiner de bonnes performances de purification et des pertes de charge faibles, en plus d’une bonne stabilité mécanique.
En collaboration avec le CRC, laboratoire de référence dans la conservation du patrimoine dont les films anciens, l’IMAP, laboratoire possédant une expertise forte dans la mise en forme des MOFs, a récemment mis au point un protocole de fabrication de membrane à base cellulosique mécaniquement stable et contenant une teneur exceptionnelle en MOF. Ces études ont été initiées dans le cadre du projet Européen Nemosine (2018-2022), puis poursuivies dans le cadre d’une thèse commune CRC/IMAP, et ont montré les excellentes performances de ces membranes pour la capture d’un composé organique volatil (COV) accélérant la dégradation des films ou livres anciens, l’acide acétique.
L’un des objectifs de ce projet est de fabriquer et optimiser des membranes à base d’Al-pda pour la capture du formaldéhyde de l’air intérieur en se basant sur le protocole mis au point entre l’IMAP et le CRC.
Les membranes seront intégrées dans un purificateur d’air afin d’être testées à l’échelle 1 en chambre environnementale selon des conditions représentatives de pollution de l’air. Ces mesures permettront d’évaluer l’efficacité de filtration ainsi que les pertes de charge associées et de mieux appréhender l’effet des propriétés des membranes (porosité, épaisseur, teneur en MOF etc.) sur leurs performances pour cette application.

Porteur du projet :

Équipes :

Laboratoires :

Partenaires socio-économiques :